Shrek Juice, a day in my life….

24 Mar

I get a lot of these looks drinking my ‘Shrek juice’ in the morning.

Gross! Disgusting! Ewwwwww, what are you drinking!

Excuse me, I say, this is my breakfast. I like to drink my multivitamin, thank you very much!

People are either really intrigued by my food choices or they want absolutely no part of it. Sadly, I’ve noticed it’s usually the unhappy and unhealthy people who keep turning up their noses at me. But simple human curiosity usually prevails, and some wonderful and thought provoking conversations commence around the water cooler.

This is what a typical day in my life looks like:

Shrek Juice recipe, juicer required

1 apple

1 zucchini

1 cup bok choy

1 cup celery

1 cup kale

ginger and freshly squeezed lemon juice

……..followed by

2 juiced oranges (or grapefruit) citrus juicer required

then,  a Green Smoothie, blender required

1 1/2 frz banana

1 tbsp cacao powder

1 tbsp chia seed

cinnamon

1 cup almond milk

1 cup spinach

I typically snack on an apple and 1 cup of baby carrots at some point during the day.

For lunch….

1 cup refried pinto beans with a dollop of sour cream and homemade salsa, with nutritional yeast sprinkled on top.

For dinner

1 bunch of asparagus, with lemon juiced squeezed on top, a generous helping of Mrs Dash and paprika, dipped in low fat ranch dressing.

Now, I usually do not count calories, but for today, I want to show how a person eating a (mostly) vegetarian diet can meet their recommended Daily Allowance (RDA).

5 fruits, 11 servings of vegetables

Calories    1500

Protein      54        (for  my size and weight, I need 47 gm)

Calcium     1270

Iron            20

Folate         975

I easily meet all my nutritional needs.

Leave a Reply

