Beet n’ Berry Smoothie

28 Mar

Another one of my husbands creations. I haven’t been feeling my best for the past few days so my husband has been in the kitchen preparing our meals. This was another simple terrific creation. I’m personally not a big fan of raw beets. I think they taste like dirt or ‘earth’ to be kind. But, when mixed with berries, it’s definitely tolerable to my palate. And the color of this smoothie was absolutely gorgeous.

Blender required

Recipe

1 large beet

2 cups mixed berries

3-5 dates (needed for  a little sweetness)

2 cups water

Blend until smooth.

6 Responses to “Beet n’ Berry Smoothie”

  1. Little Sis March 28, 2012 at 11:26 AM #

    Wow. Thanks. I tried beets once before, but didn’t counter with the dates, and I think you’re right about the earthiness. Maybe the dates help with that. Yay.

    • Babe and a Blender March 31, 2012 at 10:34 AM #

      I usually don’t add dates to my smoothies but the prefrozen fruit lately has been a little bland. Adding sweetness to the beet was clever of my husband.

  2. thelinoprinter March 28, 2012 at 11:27 AM #

    I love beetroot and I love berry smoothies. I must admit I had never thought to combine the too. I will have to try it next time I have some beets in my fridge.

  3. Lauren March 28, 2012 at 2:17 PM #

    Mmm, I love beets, and the combination of beets and berries sounds delicious! Feel better soon!

  4. leroywatson4 April 18, 2012 at 6:58 PM #

    The berries are coming soon, the beets are here and dates are always around. Can’t wait to try this one. Thanks for sharing. (www.thebeachhousekitchen.wordpress.com)

Leave a Reply

