What zucchini harvest?

19 Apr

I have to laugh and giggle at these different gardening blogs I keep coming across….what to do with all your zucchini….too much zucchini? Here’s a fun recipe to try…..

Really?

Reeeeeally?

Too MUCH zucchini? They clearly do NOT live in Florida, home of mold, fungus and waaaaaay to much humidity. Not exactly the best environment for zucchini.

Every year we struggle to grow zucchini and summer squash every season. We’re lucky if we get a handful. So if you have any brilliant ideas on how to grow zucchini in Florida, please enlighten us.

Our weather this year has been very mild and dry. Not typical Florida weather. Who named it the Sunshine state by the way?

Say hello to our little flying saucers…..

We have harvested about twice this amount so far this season. We are mainly using the zucchini for juicing. The flying saucer zucchini also works really well in sauteed dishes. It has a great texture and hold up well with heat.

2 Responses to “What zucchini harvest?”

  1. Eleenie April 23, 2012 at 4:22 AM #

    I will never complain that I don’t have enough squashes! I totally love zucchini (my favourite veg) and I have 15 plants this year, last year I had just 6 so that kind of proves my point! We have idea weather here, I hope you can find a solution to your growing problem, they’re just too good to miss out on aren’t they?

  2. Babe and a Blender May 3, 2012 at 9:29 AM #

    I just now noticed your comment and I’m sorry for the late response. So far this season we’ve been doing surprisingly well with our zucchini. We started growing different varieties as well as more oriental squashes and we seem to be having better luck. It helps too that its been a dry season so far here in FL.

Leave a Reply

