7 Days of Kale- Day 6- Kale Pesto and Spaghetti Squash

22 Apr

This was by far my most favorite kale dish.

6 kale leaves, destemmed

3/4 cup Basil leaves, chopped, from your herb garden

1 cup sundried tomatoes

2/3 cup pine nuts

1 cup Macadamia nuts

4 Tbs Olive Oil

2-3 Tbs lemon juice

1 tsp salt

pine nuts to garnish

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Cut spaghetti squash in half, place on cookie sheet face down. Bake for  approx 45 minutes. Let it cool for about 30 minutes before scraping the inside out.

Process kale in food processor. Add kale and basil to medium mixing bowl. Add the remaining ingredients into the food processor. Blend until creamy. Add the sauce to the kale and basil and mix well.

Add pesto to spaghetti sauce, garnish with sundried tomatoes and pine nuts.

Enjoy!

12 Responses to “7 Days of Kale- Day 6- Kale Pesto and Spaghetti Squash”

  1. CokaRabbit April 22, 2012 at 4:31 PM #

    The dish is so beautiful! and looks yummy too! I was watching the iron chef yesterday, and the theme is Kale too!!! I’m going to try your recipe someday!!

    • Babe and a Blender April 23, 2012 at 5:19 PM #

      Discovering kale chips made me wonder what else kale could be used for. I’ve been trying out new ways of integrating it into other dishes.

  2. An Honest Mom April 22, 2012 at 7:30 PM #

    this looks amazing. i’m completely obsessed with kale right now, which is why it was one of the 4 veggies that made the cut for our wee planter box driveway garden. i’m blown away how the whole “massaging” kale with lemon juice and salt and olive oil turns it into a completely different experience. TOOTHSOME! And We also do a kale smoothie around here…kale, banana, almond milk, flax seed. My 2 year old digs it!

  3. Daily Dose of Fresh April 23, 2012 at 7:15 AM #

    Hi there! thanks for the visit to my blog. You are so creative with the veggies. I wish we had spaghetti squash in South Africa, I’m soooo jealous. Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Babe and a Blender April 23, 2012 at 5:22 PM #

      I love spaghetti squash. I stopped eating pasta so this has been my alternative. This was the first time I tried using a pesto sauce on it. It was awesome:)

  4. foodrefashionista April 23, 2012 at 8:13 AM #

    I’m about to go into a kale phase…part of my “getting to know my vegetables better” campaign…and this recipe is going to at the top of my list! Thanks for posting!

    • Babe and a Blender April 23, 2012 at 5:28 PM #

      I love that, ‘a campaign’, thats a great description:) We have curly kale, red russian kale and dinosaur kale currently growing in our garden.

      • foodrefashionista April 23, 2012 at 8:25 PM #

        Enjoy…we don’t really have room for much of a garden, but I do have chives!

  5. Lauren April 23, 2012 at 3:03 PM #

    This looks beautiful! I’m totally in love with kale, so I may have to give this a whirl (ha) soon.

Leave a Reply

