Kale Chips

11 Mar

Hello. Welcome to my blog.  My first real attempt at blogging failed…. so here we go again.

The following are the details in which I make my Kale Chip Recipe.

First of all, I’m proud to say the kale comes straight from my garden, right outside our front door.  Say hello to my future Kale Chips:)

hmmmm….. I just realized I’m eating Kale Soup while blogging this. But that’s for another time.

Back to the kale chips.

First clean, cut and remove any critters from the leaves.

Pour apple cider vinegar into bowl and massage onto the leaves.

Next, spread the kale chips onto a dehydrator sheet. If you don’t have a dehydrator, I will show you later how to make them with the oven. Spray olive oil onto the leaves, then sprinkle with salt, paprika, and nutritional yeast.

I place paper towels under the sheets to avoid a big mess and makes clean up super easy.

Now your ready to insert into the dehydrator.

This is my MEGA-DEHYDRATOR 🙂 she’s a real beauty!

Turn on to 115 degrees for 5-6 hours. Remove and Enjoy! These will store for a few days if you don’t eat them all first.

For an oven…. simply use a cookie sheet, lined with parchment paper (please do not use wax paper), spread out the kale, spray with olive oil, sprinkle salt, paprika and nutritional yeast.

Cook for 8-9 minutes, flip the kale over, place back in the oven for another 8-9 minutes until crispy. Be VERY careful not to overcook or it will taste burnt. Eat immediately.

Oven pros: its much quicker.

Oven cons: easy to overcook, it has a slightly ‘cooked’ flavor, and has to be eaten immediately (is that a con? I’m not sure)

anyway,

that concludes my first segment on Dirt to Table.

Here’s the official Kale Chip Recipe

1 bunch of kale

1/2 c apple cider vinegar

olive oil spray

salt

paprika

nutritional yeast

And there you have it. Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Kale Chips”

  1. Kelly March 11, 2012 at 6:22 PM #

    Kale chips, sounds interesting. I’m about to start planting out my vegie garden and am considering growing kale….not that I’ve ever tasted it. Might follow your lead if you’re successful!

  2. defective farmer gene March 12, 2012 at 5:57 AM #

    I love kale chips almost as much as my wife. 🙂

  3. Defective Farmer Gene March 12, 2012 at 6:00 AM #

    I had to make the first reply.

Leave a comment