Beet Chia Crackers

24 Apr

While I’m on the discussion of chia crackers….

I know, I know!….for someone who doesn’t like beets, I sure keep bringing up the topic. Anyway…

I thought I would experiment with the last beet in our fridge (good riddance!).

I really wanted to duplicate a red tortilla cracker. The color is really cool. Why not. So I thought I would juice a beet and soak the chia seeds in it.

And Viola! Red chia crackers. Yah!

Well not so much.

Why you ask? Because the CHIA CRACKER now tastes like a BEET! ugh!

My husband really likes it though.

So if anyone else thinks it might be cool….

Recipe

Juicer and dehydrator required

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup chia seeds

1 beet

salt

garlic

Instructions:

Juice the beet, mix the chia seed in the water and add BOTH the beet pulp and beet juice. Add more water if needed. Chia seeds will gel with liquid. Let it soak for approx 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Spread mixture onto Teflex sheet and put in dehydrator on 105 degrees for 15-20 hours till dry and crunchy.

Bon appetit

Leave a comment