‘Everything’ Cracker

24 Apr

Thank you Peggy for this inspiration:)

Someone…..was eating my favorite bagel the other day at work. An ‘Everything’ Bagel. Oh gosh, how I miss the smell and the taste of the  poppy seeds crunching between my teeth.

Being I gave up all breads and crackers, well, flour to be more specific, I am always on a continuous search for new chia cracker ideas. It’s not easy finding a substitute for bread, crackers, chips, pancakes, waffles, pasta, couscous, cake, muffins, cookies, biscuits, mac and cheese….Oh, the list goes on and on.

Here’s my take on the Everything Chia Cracker.

Recipe

1 c water

1/2 cup chia seeds

3/4 cup poppy seeds

1/2 cup sesame seeds

1/4 cup garlic, minced

1 onion

1 tsp salt, or more to taste.

Instructions:

First mix the chia seed and water together and let it sit for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. The chia seeds will turn into a gel.

In the meantime, place onion into food processor on shred, discard any excess water.

Add the poppy seeds, sesame seeds, garlic, salt and onions to the chia mixture.

Spread onto Teflex sheet evenly. I like to score the crackers before putting them into the dehydrator so they will break easily when dried.

Dehydrate on 105 degrees for 15 hours.

Crackers are best with any dip such as hummus or guacamole.

 

 

5 Responses to “‘Everything’ Cracker”

  1. Little Sis April 24, 2012 at 7:41 PM #

    LOVE chia crackers. Thanks for this version. I have some killer hummus just waiting for the right vessel.

    • Babe and a Blender April 24, 2012 at 8:03 PM #

      Do you have any killer hummus recipes? I’m looking for one.

      • Little Sis April 24, 2012 at 8:16 PM #

        On my blog, I think yesterday’s post – “Riffing on a Theme in the KItchen.” Baja Hummus is to die for, IMHO. 😉

      • Babe and a Blender April 24, 2012 at 8:32 PM #

        got it. tks;)

      • Little Sis April 24, 2012 at 8:42 PM #

        My pleasure! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a comment